Good to know about the Visayas
The Visayas are next to Luzon and Mindanao one of the three main geographical divisions of the Philippines.

The Visayas themselves are also divided into three administrative regions: Western Visayas, Central Visayas and Eastern Visayas.

Panay, Negros, Cebu, Bohol, Leyte, and Samar are the major islands of the Visayas.
In 2010 the population of the Visayas was 18,003,940 people.

Many tourists choose the Visayas as their primary travel destination on the Philippines. That’s probably because the island group has a lot to offer:
pristine beaches, amazing diving, waterfalls, caves and much more.

The Visayas are home to the chocolate hills on Bohol and to famous diving spots like Apo Island or Alona beach.
Also the second largest city of the Philippines, Cebu City is located in Central Visayas. And the region is also home to many well-known festivals like the “Ati-atihan Festival” or the “Sinulog Festival”.

The main languages spoken in the Visayas are Cebuano in Central Visayas, Ilonggo in Western Visayas and Waray-Waray in the Eastern Visayas region. Of course Tagalaog as well as English are also known.

If you are new to the Philippines, you will probably choose this area for your first visit. As already said, it really has a lot to offer and everybody – regardless if diver, beach lover or adventurer - will find what (s)he wants for his/her holiday.