Good to know about Leyte
The island Leyte is divided into two provinces, Northern and Southern Leyte. Back in the day Southern Leyte was a sub-province of the former big province Leyte. The island is situated in the Eastern Visayas.
The population is 1,789,158 (Northern Leyte, 2010) and 399,137 (Southern Leyte, 2010).
The capital of Northern Leyte is Tacloban, Southern Leyte’s capital is called Maasin City.

Most travellers go to Southern Leyte because of its great diving. Padre Burgos e.g. is a place well known among divers.